Michigan name change for transgender people

Disclaimer: This is legal talk, not legal advice. Laws vary by state, and some of the information discussed on this page may not be applicable in your case. I cannot guarantee the accuracy of this information and provide it without warranty. Laws change and this information may contain errors and omissions. It is up to you to confirm any information herein by doing your own research.

A reader sent the following in November 2003.

Michigan will change both name and sex, and will issue a new birth certificate rather than amend the old one. Michigan law also provides for "sealing" of the old record. For further information, see Michigan Compiled Law 333.2831.

You will need an original letter from your SRS surgeon, and an original or certified copy of the court order for your name change. The fee is $26.00.

Contact information:

Michigan Department of Community Health
Changes Unit
(517) 335 - 8660
http://www.mdch.state.mi.us/

Ms. Carol Getts
State Registrar and Chief
Office of the State Registrar Center for Health
Statistics
gettsc@state.mi.us

A reader adds in May 2004:

The information for Michigan is incomplete.

Name change:

(1) File a petition with the county clerk's office - about $50

(2) a legal notice will need to be filed - about $39

(3) finger prints must be taken. Generally at your township police station ($10 or so). Cards mailed to state police in Lansing ($35 fee est.), with return address the county clerk's office.

(4) once the legal notice has run, and a no criminal report comes back from Lansing, the clerk will notify you of your hearing date in Family court. In court, the process is little different than a person reverting to a maiden name after a divorce. Similar to how you once described it in Chicago.

Other comments and resources

 

Michigan state law

Michigan Compiled Law 333.2831.

Legal precedent for transsexuals

[not known]